Mozart, Symphony No. 41 in C major, K. 551 "Jupiter"

Filmed mainly in Vienna's splendid "Musikvereinssaal," the Mozart
symphonies conducted by Karl Böhm are all interpreted by one of the
world's foremost orchestras, the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra, whose
principal conductors have included Wilhelm Furtwängler, Bruno Walter,
Herbert von Karajan, Claudio Abbado and, of course, Karl Böhm. "Thanks to
Bruno Walter's exemplary performances, particularly of Mozart's works, I
grabbed on to Mozart and fell in love with him so much that I had only one
wish: to conduct Mozart, Mozart, Mozart." (Karl Böhm)
Mozart's last symphony is a solemn and formal work which looks back to the
past more than its two fellow works K. 504 and 550. It contains strong
reminiscences of Baroque forms like the fugue and the concerto grosso (e.g.
in the opposition of clear-cut themes and the interplay of solo and tutti
groups). Particularly the last movement is one of the most impressive in
symphonic literature because of its unique blend of melodic flow and
"scholarly" fugal treatment. Although not truly a fugue, the movement
incorporates some exciting imitative work. The theme was well known and
often used in the 18th century. Mozart himself used it in two of his masses
and in the Symphony K. 319. The "Jupiter" Symphony, a truly Olympian work,
must be viewed together with the two preceding symphonies as Mozart's final
word in a genre he raised to heights never before attained.
Karl Böhm was universally acclaimed for his Mozart interpretations. Though
Wagner was one of Böhm's first loves, his friendship with Richard Strauss
led to a deep knowledge and appreciation of Mozart. In his autobiography,
Böhm wrote that "Richard Strauss revealed to me the ultimate secrets of
this, in my opinion, greatest of all musical geniuses, Mozart." Böhm's
discovery of these secrets transformed his Mozart interpretations into
unforgettable events.

Composer: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Title: Mozart, Symphony No. 41 in C major, K. 551 "Jupiter"
Conductor: Karl Böhm
Orchestra: Wiener Philharmoniker
Video Director: Hugo Käch
Genre: Concert
Length: 29 minutes
Cat.No.: A04500067
Gallery         DVD         

The DVD is also released within the complete "Mozart / Böhm" DVD package which is available in selected stores worldwide and through Amazon or JPC.