Mozart, Symphony No. 40 in G minor, K. 550

Filmed mainly in Vienna's splendid "Musikvereinssaal," the Mozart
symphonies conducted by Karl Böhm are all interpreted by one of the
world's foremost orchestras, the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra, whose
principal conductors have included Wilhelm Furtwängler, Bruno Walter,
Herbert von Karajan, Claudio Abbado and, of course, Karl Böhm. "Thanks to
Bruno Walter's exemplary performances, particularly of Mozart's works, I
grabbed on to Mozart and fell in love with him so much that I had only one
wish: to conduct Mozart, Mozart, Mozart." (Karl Böhm)
The G minor Symphony is undoubtedly Mozart's most popular work in this
genre. What makes it so exciting to us - and what endeared this work to
19th-century audiences - ar its relentless passion and Romantic tension.
The very first bars set the scene: above a nervous, pulsating viola
accompaniment enters an equally agitated principal theme. There is nothing
spectacular here, and yet the "piano" beginning - unusual for an
18th-century symphony - and the insistent rhythm are nothing less than
gripping. The mastery with which Mozart then contrapuntally exploits the
opening theme is simply bgreathtaking - particularly in the development
section, which darts out into the most distant keys. After the profoundly
touching Andante and uncompromising Minuet, the fiery Allegro assai, with
its extravagant modulations in the development section, provides a worthy
counterpart to the first movement.
Karl Böhm was universally acclaimed for his Mozart interpretations. Though
Wagner was one of Böhm's first loves, his friendship with Richard Strauss
led to a deep knowledge and appreciation of Mozart. In his autobiography,
Böhm wrote that "Richard Strauss revealed to me the ultimate secrets of
this, in my opinion, greatest of all musical geniuses, Mozart." Böhm's
discovery of these secrets transformed his Mozart interpretations into
unforgettable events.

Composer: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Title: Mozart, Symphony No. 40 in G minor, K. 550
Conductor: Karl Böhm
Orchestra: Wiener Philharmoniker
Video Director: Hugo Käch
Genre: Concert
Length: 28 minutes
Cat.No.: A04500066
Gallery         DVD         

The DVD is also released within the complete "Mozart / Böhm" DVD package which is available in selected stores worldwide and through Amazon or JPC.