Mozart, Symphony No. 38 in D major, K. 504 "Prague"

Filmed mainly in Vienna's splendid "Musikvereinssaal," the Mozart
symphonies conducted by Karl Böhm are all interpreted by one of the
world's foremost orchestras, the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra, whose
principal conductors have included Wilhelm Furtwängler, Bruno Walter,
Herbert von Karajan, Claudio Abbado and, of course, Karl Böhm. "Thanks to
Bruno Walter's exemplary performances, particularly of Mozart's works, I
grabbed on to Mozart and fell in love with him so much that I had only one
wish: to conduct Mozart, Mozart, Mozart." (Karl Böhm)
A symphony for connoisseurs, K. 504 reflects the taste and discernment of
the audience it was intended for: the musical public of Prague. Since his
"Marriage of Figaro" was the hit of the town in late 1786, Mozart decided
to travel to Prague; in his luggage was the D major symphony, premiered on
19 January 1787. Written between "Figaro" and "The Magic Flute," it shares
unmistakable affinities with these two works and even quotes a theme from
"Figaro" in the finale. And it is also a work in which Mozart could be
completely himself. He thus indulged in a draatic slow introduction, and in
some austere contrapuntal writing in the first movement. Since the wind
players in the Bohemian capital were rightly praised for their excellence,
Mozart also rewarded them with some truly beautiful pages.
Karl Böhm was universally acclaimed for his Mozart interpretations. Though
Wagner was one of Böhm's first loves, his friendship with Richard Strauss
led to a deep knowledge and appreciation of Mozart. In his autobiography,
Böhm wrote that "Richard Strauss revealed to me the ultimate secrets of
this, in my opinion, greatest of all musical geniuses, Mozart." Böhm's
discovery of these secrets transformed his Mozart interpretations into
unforgettable events.

Composer: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Title: Mozart, Symphony No. 38 in D major, K. 504 "Prague"
Conductor: Karl Böhm
Orchestra: Wiener Philharmoniker
Video Director: Hugo Käch
Genre: Concert
Length: 28 minutes
Cat.No.: A05500644
Gallery         DVD         

The DVD is also released within the complete "Mozart / Böhm" DVD package which is available in selected stores worldwide and through Amazon or JPC.