Mozart, Serenata notturna in D major, K. 239

Karl Böhm leads the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra in this little work
written by Mozart in Salzburg in January 1776. What sets this work apart
from other serenades is its scoring for two small orchestras, which
produces a deliberate echo effect. One can almost imagine the courtly
guests bantering amidst the two groups of players at the opposite ends of a
grand salon. Although the work begins with a march, called "Marcia
maestoso," it soon gives up all martial pretenses for lightness and grace.
The final Rondo is particularly spirited and frisky, wth episodes of a
nature that must have made more than one guest stop in mid conversation!
Karl Böhm was universally acclaimed for his Mozart interpretations. Though
Wagner was one of Böhm's first loves, his friendship with Richard Strauss
led to a deep knowledge and appreciation of Mozart. In his autobiography,
Böhm wrote that "Richard Strauss revealed to me the ultimate secrets of
this, in my opinion, greatest of all musical geniuses, Mozart." Böhm's
discovery of these secrets transformed his Mozart interpretations into
unforgettable events.

Composer: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Title: Mozart, Serenata notturna in D major, K. 239
Conductor: Karl Böhm
Orchestra: Wiener Philharmoniker
Video Director: Hugo Käch
Genre: Concert
Length: 14 minutes
Cat.No.: A05501054
Gallery         DVD         

The DVD is also released within the complete "Mozart / Böhm" DVD package which is available in selected stores worldwide and through Amazon or JPC.