Andris Nelsons at the Lucerne Festival

"Wherever the Latvian conductor goes, he leaves behind enthusiasm and
amazement" wrote the press on the occasion of Andris Nelsons' concert with
the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra at the Lucerne Festival. The concert
opens with Wagner's Overture to Rienzi, which is followed by Richard
Strauss' Dance of the Seven Veils. The orchestra convincingly evokes the
sensuality of Strauss' melodies. The concert's pièce de résistance is
Shostakovich's Eighth Symphony, which was written in the midst of Nazi and
Stalinist terror. Under Nelsons the piece became "a disturbing work of
mourning and despair" (Tages Anzeiger).

Composer: Richard Wagner, Richard Strauss, Dmitri Shostakovich
Title: Andris Nelsons at the Lucerne Festival
Conductor: Andris Nelsons
Orchestra: Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra
Video Director: Ute Feudel
Genre: Concert
Length: 99 minutes
Cat.No.: A955004740000
DVD         Blu-ray         Flyer