Grieg, Piano Concerto in A minor, Op. 16

At 88, Artur Rubinstein showed no trace of losing that quality of "joie de
vivre" that had so fascinated audiences for almost three quarters of a
century. The true Rubinstein sound, full and sonorous at every pitch, was
always one of the distinctive marks of his playing ever since he began
appearing in public. Rubinstein's performance of Grieg's ever-popular piano
concerto, accompanied by the London Symphony Orchestra under André Previn,
is a perfect testimony of his notion of a "singing tone". With playing that
is by turns vital and poetic, extrovert and reflective, rhapsodic and
poised, this performance, filmed in April 1975 at London's Fairfield Hall,
is Rubinstein at his warm-hearted, lyrical best.

Composer: Edvard Grieg
Title: Grieg, Piano Concerto in A minor, Op. 16
Conductor: André Previn
Soloist: Artur Rubinstein
Orchestra: London Symphony Orchestra
Video Director: Hugo Käch
Genre: Concert
Length: 34 minutes
Cat.No.: A05500595
Gallery         DVD