Liszt, A Faust Symphony

Liszt had discovered Goethe's Faust in a French translation just before the
premiere of Berlioz's Symphonie fantastique, and it was Berlioz who drew
his attention to it. Though he initially contemplated writing an opera on
this topic, he ultimately decided on a symphonic work which he called
"A Faust Symphony in Three Character Pictures" which evoke Faust,
Marguerite and Mephistopheles. His goal was to create psychological
portraits that capture the character from within and, through recurring
motifs and melodies, show that the three figures are interconnected. The
work was premiered in Weimar on 5 September 1857 under the direction of
the composer. In this performance, Leonard Bernstein conducts the Boston
Symphony Orchestra and tenor Kenneth Riegel at Boston's Symphony Hall.

Composer: Franz Liszt
Title: Liszt, A Faust Symphony
Conductor: Leonard Bernstein
Soloist: Kenneth Riegel
Orchestra: Boston Symphony Orchestra
Chorus: Tanglewood Festival Chorus
Video Director: Humphrey Burton
Genre: Concert
Length: 82 minutes
Cat.No.: A05005380
Gallery         DVD         

The DVD is also released by Dreamlife in Japan.