Beethoven, String Quartet in C sharp minor, Op. 131

Since its founding in 1946 in New York, the Juilliard Quartet has been
synonymous with the genre of the string quartet. The repertoire of the
ensemble comprises around 500 works - from J. S. Bach's "Art of Fugue" to
contemporary works which were written for the Juilliards. The four
musicians have also trained generations of string quartets as teachers at
the Juilliard School of Music in New York - from the Emerson Quartet to the
Tokyo String Quartet. Robert Mann, the first violin, belonged to the
founding members and retired in 1997 at the age of 77. Earl Carlyss was
second violinist from 1966-1986 and was followed by Joel Smirnoff, who
changed from the second to the first violin in 1997. Samuel Rhodes joined
the ensemble as violist in 1969 and Joel Krosnick as cellist in 1974.

Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven
Title: Beethoven, String Quartet in C sharp minor, Op. 131
Orchestra: Juilliard String Quartet
Video Director: Hugo K├Ąch
Genre: Concert
Length: 42 minutes
Cat.No.: A05500606
Gallery         DVD